MARKETS, CREDIT & POLICYAbout & methodology
c.The Credit CurrentDAILY INTELLIGENCEWhat matters in Credit
Deep-dive library
Bank profile

First Electronic Bank: a Utah industrial bank built around lending partnerships

A bank-specific profile of First Electronic’s charter, dated balance sheet and partnership model, with a focus on retained exposure, operating scale and program accountability.

5 min read · estimatedAI-generated analysis · Methodology
Current version · 1 version · Publication details

Initial full research article; sources and status reviewed September 27, 2026.

Key takeaways

From this version
Main finding
A bank-specific profile of First Electronic’s charter, dated balance sheet and partnership model, with a focus on retained exposure, operating scale and program accountability.
Practical implication
Retained loans amortize, sales settle at different times and repurchase obligations may create additional risk.
Key limitation
The public record does not disclose every partner contract, underwriting model, sale agreement or internal assessment.
In this article

The legal institution and its stated role

First Electronic Bank describes itself as a state-chartered, FDIC-insured industrial bank based in Salt Lake City, Utah. Its public materials describe partnerships involving consumer installment lending, small-business credit and card programs. [1] The FFIEC National Information Center identifies the bank as active, with RSSD 2947556, FDIC certificate 35533 and the FDIC as primary federal regulator. [2]

Those facts identify the regulated bank. They do not establish that every company using a similar brand is the bank, that every partner product has the same terms or that an external platform’s entire business is bank-supervised. A consumer or commercial counterparty should identify the actual creditor and servicing responsibilities in the relevant agreement.

A dated balance-sheet anchor

FDIC financial data report June 30, 2026 assets of $502.862 million, deposits of $285.634 million and total equity capital of $198.328 million for First Electronic Bank. [3] These are bank-level quarter-end observations, reported in thousands of dollars and converted here to millions. They are not a parent-company valuation, annual origination volume or a live measure of available lending capacity.

Calculated equity-to-assets is approximately 39.4%, and deposits-to-assets is approximately 56.8%. A large simple equity ratio does not identify a confidential supervisory rating or eliminate operational, legal and concentration risks. Nor can the difference between assets and deposits be treated as unused cash: the full liability and asset composition matters.

The size of the balance sheet should also be distinguished from the scale of programs the bank originates or supports. Loans may be retained, sold or otherwise distributed under individual arrangements. Public marketing about cumulative volume cannot be directly compared with quarter-end assets without understanding those flows and definitions.

Scroll horizontally to see all columns.

Bank-level metricJune 30, 2026Source / definition
Total assets$502.862 millionFDIC ASSET
Total deposits$285.634 millionFDIC DEP
Total equity capital$198.328 millionFDIC EQ
Equity / assets39.4%Calculated accounting ratio; not regulatory capital

What the partnership model can offer

The bank’s partnership page presents its role in bringing financial products to market with external companies, while its about page describes activity across consumer credit tiers and point-of-need lending. [1][4] These are the bank’s descriptions of its offering, not independently measured claims about partner outcomes, pricing or control effectiveness.

Analysis: a specialized bank can supply regulated lending capabilities while a partner contributes distribution, software or customer experience. The potential economic value comes from combining those capabilities without each party reproducing the entire infrastructure. The arrangement remains attractive only if responsibilities, data and incentives stay aligned as volume grows.

Different programs can create different exposures. A bank that retains loans faces direct credit and funding risk. A program involving sales can leave documentation, servicing, repurchase or conduct obligations. A card program can introduce payment-network and dispute responsibilities. The correct profile is therefore a set of program-level relationships, not a single generic label such as sponsor bank.

A hypothetical volume-versus-exposure comparison

Assume a bank originates $50 million of loans monthly, sells 90% shortly after origination and retains 10%. The $600 million annual production flow is not a $600 million year-end balance-sheet exposure. Retained loans amortize, sales settle at different times and repurchase obligations may create additional risk. These figures are hypothetical and do not describe First Electronic’s actual program mix.

Now assume a buyer pauses purchases for a month. The bank may need to carry a much larger temporary inventory, slow originations or find an alternative buyer, depending on the contract and available capacity. A program that appears capital-efficient during normal settlement can become funding-intensive during disruption. Assess the peak exposure and contingency options, not just the average hold period.

Similarly, a partner’s reserve or indemnity should be evaluated for collectibility. If the partner’s financial health deteriorates at the same time complaints or credit losses rise, contractual protection may be least reliable when most needed. The bank needs evidence about the counterparty and the underlying customer obligations.

Program oversight should remain observable

Recommended controls include approved underwriting and pricing boundaries, versioned contracts, data access, complaint visibility, servicing standards and tested termination arrangements. Changes in partner software can alter what customers see or how decisions are executed even when the bank’s written policy remains unchanged. Sample the live customer journey and reconcile it to the approved program design.

A useful program dashboard separates applications, approvals, funded loans, retained balances, sales, disputes and complaints. It should show concentration by partner, merchant and product where relevant. Aggregate bank profitability can conceal an emerging problem in a smaller program, while a fast-growing program can overwhelm shared compliance and servicing resources before it becomes large on the balance sheet.

The bank should also be able to obtain the records needed to continue servicing if a partner fails. Contractual audit rights are valuable, but practical access and usable data formats matter. A test export and reconciliation can reveal weaknesses that a contractual review alone would miss. These are analytical recommendations, not allegations about the institution.

Costs and limits of specialization

Specialization can reduce duplication and improve expertise, but it can also concentrate dependence on a few channels, counterparties or operational systems. More rigorous oversight increases onboarding time and ongoing expense. Those costs should be priced into the program rather than treated as an unexpected burden after launch.

The public record does not disclose every partner contract, underwriting model, sale agreement or internal assessment. This profile therefore does not invent customer relationships, program prices or confidential CAMELS ratings. The bank’s reported equity and modest quarter-end asset size do not answer how all contingent and operational risks are distributed.

What would change the view

Evidence of durable program economics would include consistent cohort performance, reliable settlement, collectible recourse and well-controlled customer servicing. A material shift in retained assets, funding mix, partner concentration or public supervisory status would warrant a new revision. First Electronic is relevant because it illustrates Utah’s role in specialized banking partnerships; the bank-specific question is how its regulated balance sheet and operating controls support each individual program.

Sources

  1. First Electronic Bank, about and charter description; reviewed September 27, 2026Back to text: ↑1↑2
  2. FFIEC National Information Center, First Electronic Bank profile; reviewed September 27, 2026Back to text: ↑
  3. FDIC BankFind financial data, First Electronic Bank certificate 35533, June 30, 2026; retrieved September 27, 2026Back to text: ↑
  4. First Electronic Bank, partnership offering; reviewed September 27, 2026Back to text: ↑